Building a Shield of Faith Through Keeping Journals For Your Kids

DSC_0002

“Devote yourselves to prayer, being watchful and thankful.” Colossians 4:2

In 2 corinthians 6, Paul is talking about being in the power of God and doing what is right with WEAPONS of righteousness in the right hand and in the left. Weapons for defense AND action. The sword of the spirit, which is the word of God, and the shield of faith. A soldier would not go to battle without his weapons. We NEED weapons and our children need weapons too. Ephesians 6 tells us “For we are not fighting against flesh-and-blood enemies, but against evil rulers and authorities of the unseen world…” It goes on to tell us what to wear in battle and to put on the armor of God. I need weapons and it is my job as a mother to make sure my children have these weapons too. We are TRAINING them and PREPARING them for the WORLD and for KINGDOM WORK. Sometimes I get lost in diapers, baths, every child pooping at the same time, and lose that kingdom mindset. BUT God has a plan for them and it is for good, not disaster. We are to be training them FOR THIS PLAN that he has for them. We are to prepare them for the vision he has for them. And we are equipping them for His plan for their lives.

One way I am able to help them use their weapons is to help them build a shield of faith. I keep a prayer journal for each child and I write down prayers for them since they were born-health, purity, sibling relationships, heart murmurs, salvation, fears, weaning, nursing, relationship with us as parents, how to love, teach and accept their uniqueness, that He will show us how to equip them to serve Him best, and so much more. I always write “Answered ________” and leave a space to go back and fill in when the prayer was answered. I highlight the answered date and write a praise to the lord when it’s answered. In the back of the journal, I write down their strengths. These are God given. On a post it, I write down their weaknesses. (on a post it so I can remove it from the journal before I give it to them). I want to pray over their weaknesses. I want to be alert of how God made them. I want to be in prayer over how they can glorify the kingdom using their strengths, and what may be a pitfall for their weaknesses.

“Be sure you know the condition of your flocks, give careful attention to your herds.” Proverbs 27:23

When my husband and I think they are ready to receive their journals, we will give it to them and say “Have faith! Look what ALL God has done for you!! He is always faithful. He truly cares for you and loves you deeply.” It’s a tangible way for them to actually see how God has been working in their lives for years. Since conception. And from my own prayer journal, I know that prayers can be answered in just hours or days, but I also know some prayers are not answered for years. And that there are those prayers that God has other plans for all together. Them seeing this also helps build faith. And it helps so much when I face a trial to look back at a prayer journal where God has answered SO MANY prayers. No matter how or when it was answered, God hears them all. We need to speak truth and life into our children. I want to HELP BUILD THEIR SHIELD OF FAITH. I want them to have a real sense of what it means to have a shield of faith.

“In every situation take the shield of faith, and with it you will be able to extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one.” Ephesians 6:16

I want my children to carry with them a HUGE shield of faith. One that covers them from head to toe and arm length to arm length. Not one that just covers a small portion of their body, like just their face or just their chest. I want their shield to cover ALL of them!

“My lips will glorify You because Your faithful love is better than life.” Psalm 63:3

I wish I always had the faith our Lord deserves, but I don’t. I forget. I somehow forget the thousands of prayers he has answered for me. I so do not want to be like the Israelites in how they continued to forget all the Lord had done for them. Huge things he had done for them-parted the waters so they could walk through, lead them by a pillar of cloud, fed them with bread from Heaven! Help me Lord remember all of your good deeds and kindness towards me and proclaim your goodness to everyone.

“I will tell of the LORD’s unfailing love. I will praise the LORD for all he has done. I will rejoice in his great goodness to Israel, which he has granted according to his mercy and love.” Isaiah 63:7

Leave a Reply

