Love intensely

Help me Lord. Speak to me.

“Help me Lord”

Last week I had one of those days. You know the one, the “Whelp, I did it. I ruined my kids today.” I yelled, I spoke harshly, I critiqued, and after it all, I cried. And cried hard. I felt like a failure. Like a terrible mom. A disappointment to my children. I went for a walk and found myself on my knees crying out to God for help: “I feel overwhelmed, help me. Speak to me. Please speak to me.” And I waited. After some time my heart was flooded with answers from his Word, “Love them intensely. Be gentle. Train them, but let me lead. And stay close to me-my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”

 “…love one another deeply, from the heart” 1 Peter 1:22

“All Scripture is breathed out by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, and for training in righteousness… 2 Tim 3:16-17

“Let your gentleness be evident to all.” Phil 4:5

“Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen.” Ephesians 4:29

“…she gives instructions with kindness.” Proverbs 31:26

I felt relief and gratitude…and repentance. Okay, I can do that. That sounds so much better than trying to control everything. It’s hard having a white knuckle grip on things out of my control.  I feel depleted some days, physically and emotionally. I think, “I just can’t do this.” And then Christ reminds me, not by yourself. I don’t want you to do it by yourself. I want to help you. I have sent you a helper to teach you all things. Come to me. I am your everything. 

“For I am the LORD your God who takes hold of your right hand and says to you, Do not fear; I will help you.” Isaiah 41:13

“Then Jesus said, “COME TO ME, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you. Let me teach you, because I am humble and gentle at heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy to bear, and the burden I give you is light.” Matthew 11:28-30

None of it is mine. These precious kids are not mine. My life is not mine. My time is not mine. It’s all his. I want to do it His way. I want to live with everything I have for him. Yes, motherhood is hard, but aren’t all the big things in life? Marriage, raising children, ministry…hard, but totally worth the work.

“Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up.” Galations 6:9

One thought on “Love intensely

Leave a Reply

