Using scripture for discipline and encouragement

“All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness, so that the servant of God may be thoroughly equipped for every good work.” 2 Timothy 3:16-17

I have prayed that the Lord will show me ways to use His Word for discipline and encouragement. I was so excited to find some resources to help me and I wanted to share them!

“Wise Words for Moms” by Ginger Hubbard. This has been SO amazing. It’s a calendar sized chart of 22 different behaviors, heart probing questions to ask the child, a Bible verse (or paraphrase from a couple of verses) for correction, and a Bible verse (or paraphrase) for encouragement. Along with additional verses related to the behavior. I love it. There are times when I stand around wishing I knew what to say but I don’t. Or wishing I could remember a Bible verse that would be perfect. This chart has helped so much. Example: one of my children getting a new book then complaining that they want another one. I go to my handy chart and ask my questions for Complaining: 1. Is your attitude showing thankfulness and contentment? 2. Rather than complaining, what can you be thankful for in this situation? Correction verse: “Do everything without complaining or arguing.” Phil 2:14 Encouragement paraphrase verse: “It is God’s will that you be thankful and joyful in all circumstances.” paraphrased from 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

027696i1

I totally stand there, chart in hand, and read from it when I need to. I’m hoping to have it memorized by the time baby #4 starts acting up. I’ve told several friends about this chart and one friend said she found an app for it so she can pull up the chart on her phone when they are away from home!

http://www.amazon.com/Wise-Words-Moms-Ginger-Hubbard/dp/0966378660/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1430943468&sr=1-1&keywords=wise+words+for+mom

Another resource is the Parenting Cards from We Choose Virtues. There are 12 character traits represented on colorful cards with a Bible verse. There’s a fun little story to read on the back about the character on the front. My kids really love these. We pick one and focus on it for a week or two. We are doing obedience this week and every time the kids say “Yes ma’am” or “Yes ma’am, I’d be happy to” when asked to do something they get a fruit of the spirit on their Fruit of the Spirit chart. They get lots of tries to be obedient. It makes it fun.

teacher-virtue-cards-family_medium

http://wechoosevirtues.com/collections/all/products/parenting-cards

Side note: we also play the “obedience game” that I learned from hearing another mom talk about it. We sit in the floor and one of the kids sits in front of us and I’ll say, “Please stand up, take 3 big hops, and roar like a lion.” Before they stand up they have to say, “Yes ma’am, I’d be happy to!” They ask to play this game A LOT. It’s a fun, easy way to practice obedience. Cheerful obedience. I’ve found that it helps practicing and role playing the behaviors I’d like my kids to have.

Another helpful tool I’ve learned about recently came from Pam Tebow, the super inspiring mom of Tim Tebow. I watched a video of her and she said she would sing scripture over her kids. “Something learned in song is remember long,” she said. So she would take a verse and just sing it to them. So I’ve tried to start implementing this. She said her two great parenting tips were “scripture and faith.” I love what she said when talking about what she did that was different or special in parenting: “I have the same Bible and I have the same God. I don’t have anything anyone else doesn’t have. I’ve just chosen to count on it and stake my life on it and the lives of my children on it.”

Lord, help me STAKE MY LIFE AND MY KID’S LIVES on YOUR WORD.

“Fathers and mothers, do not provoke your children to anger by the way you treat them. Rather, bring them up with the discipline and instruction that comes from the Lord.” Ephesians 6:4

Leave a Reply

